I hated Batman V Superman

I literally just finished watching Batman V Superman: Dawn Of Justice and I had to write a post about it.

It was soooooo long. Batman and Superman met for the first real time 60 MINUTES into the movie. There was 60 minutes of build up to that one scene. I hated most of the movie except for the last 40/30 minutes when things really started happening.

There was far too much build up. I was relieved when Superman and Batman actually started to fight because every other action scene (and there weren’t many) felt unnecessary.

I couldn’t actually understand why they were fighting. I can understand Batman wanting to get the kryptonite in case Superman went crazy, but he didn’t go crazy. He didn’t do anything horrible to anyone and Batman still wanted to kill him. Yes, KILL him. Even though, from everything I know about the character, Batman doesn’t kill. He hates killing, so why was he preparing to stab Superman with a kryptonite spear which I’m pretty sure would have killed him. Did the people that made the movie even know that much about the characters?

There was no real motivation for them to hate each other. Okay, Superman thought that Batman was too brutal and Batman was still pissed off about Superman destroying a lot of the city in the previous Superman movie, but was that really enough for them to want to kill each other? Granted, Superman only wanted to kill Batman because his mother was being held captive by Lex Luthor and if he didn’t killed Batman, his mother would die. He gets a pass for that, but Batman absolutely doesn’t.

Speaking of Lex Luthor, what a freak. Now I don’t much about Superman comics. I’ve never cared enough about the character to read one, but from all of the stuff I’ve heard and the movies/animated series that I’ve seen, hasn’t Lex Luthor always been a very intelligent older character? I’m sure that in some versions, he’s been portrayed differently. This version of Lex Luthor was just an awkward, crazy little freak. I couldn’t really figure out his motivation to want Superman or Batman killed either.

The ending was extremely anticlimactic. Superman died, there was a funeral and a lot of sadness at the end of the movie, but it was all pointless because everyone knows that a Justice League movie will be coming out, so clearly, he didn’t die. It was a waste of time.

The big action scene at the end was actually pretty decent although I spent the whole time thinking that Wonder Woman was fighting more than Batman or Superman up until Superman died to kill the creature.

All that this boring movie did was make me more excited to see the Wonder Woman film this year because, she was pretty much the best character in the film.

Leave a Reply

